Welcome to the ABPA website


WELCOME, membership of the Australian Bush Poets Association (ABPA) is comprised of writers, performers and individuals who are interested in bush poetry and enjoy written and live stories in rhyme and metre. If you have an interest in this piece of Australian culture called Bush Poetry, you are welcome here.

The objectives of the Australian Bush Poets Association is to foster and encourage the growth of Bush Poetry in Australia. By definition, Australian Bush Poetry is metred and rhymed poetry about Australia, Australians and/or the Australian way of life.

To join the Australian Bush Poets Association and receive our bi-monthly magazine, go to our Membership page.

The ABPA keeps in touch with our members through this website (and forum) and our bi-monthly magazine of Bush Poetry news, events, results of written and spoken competitions as well as samples of contemporary bush poetry. Many members have books, CDs and other products. These can be advertised in the magazine. For rates, click here. The deadline for ads and other content for the magazine is the 22nd of the month preceding publication. Magazines are published at the beginning of February, April, June, August, October and December.

ABPA Facebook page Check out our Facebook page.

Changes to Competition Package
The annual review of the ABPA Competition Package resulted in some changes to the ABPA Guidelines, Procedures, Assessment sheets and Entry Forms for both Performance and Written competitions. Following post review feedback some further minor adjustments have been made to the Performance Bush Poetry and Yarn Spinning Assessment sheets.
So that all concerned with the organisation of, judging of or participation in competitions, are in tune with the 2016 upgrades, everyone is urged to re-familiarise themselves with all the relevant documents and helpful information in the current ABPA Competition Package on the Competitions page. Should you have any queries please contact the ABPA Secretary or 
or Brenda Joy, the Review Sub-Committee Secretary. Contacts here.

No Bundy Bush Poetry Muster in 2017
See Bundabereg Poets' Society explanation here.


Limited Issue Chook Raffle

The ABPA is running a  'Chook' raffle to raise much-needed funds. 

  • Prize $400.
  • Each raffle limited to 400 tickets.
  • Tickets $5 each.  
  • Purchase by direct bank deposit or cheque with a stamped, self-addressed envelope.

That's a 1 in 400 chance of winning $400!

Full details here

The 'Limited Issue Chook Raffles' are being conducted legally, all by email, purchase by direct deposit into our bank account, or by cheque with SSAE. Paypal will not be accepted as every ticket has to be of equal value. We are too small to absorb the costs.

Each ticket: $5.00.
Number of tickets per raffle: 400. 
Gross amount raised per raffle - $2,000.00 (usable net amount will be $1,600.00 unless the prize is donated or partly donated).
Total prize each raffle - $400.00.   The Prize is to be assigned to the winner's preferred retailer and gaming rules apply.
Odds are 1 in 400, better than Lotto, so I hope that with your help and good sense each raffle will sell quickly.

We invite you to purchase tickets in this life-saving venture: life-saving for ABPA, and possibly for some lucky winner. Here is how:

  • Please send the treasurer an EMAIL asking to purchase one or more tickets, give your name, address, phone number, the bank direct deposit receipt number, already done by 'pay anyone' on your internet banking, and DEPOSIT the single or multiple of $5.00 into the ABPA bank account (please check your 'pay anyone' records for the correct account):
    A/c name: ABPA Inc.
    BSB: 633000
    A/c no: 154842108
    Reference: ‘tickets surname’ (e.g. tickets Hutcheson). Nothing else, not enough space!

  • OR, post the treasurer a CHEQUE for the total amount in favour of The Australian Bush Poets Association Inc. together with a SSAE (stamped self addressed envelope) to:
    The ABPA Treasurer
    Carol Hutcheson
    48 Avoca Street

The ticket (consecutively numbered if more than one) will be sent to you by email or in your SSAE.
Closing Date: 31st May 2017 or before. Drawn: 1st June 2017 or before.
It is over to you now, and thank you for your consideration. Please send this to your friends.

A donation of $50.00 has come from Jeff Close of outbackbooks.info - About Us in Toowoomba.  Over 400 Australian books and DVDs available online or at 100 Taylor Street, Toowoomba, Qld. 4350. Phone (07) 4637 8933. He also runs The Bronze Swagman written competition.

Mick Martin of Best Gutter Solutions in SE Queensland has donated $100. Mick says: Our business is roof maintenance and gutter vacuuming. We have been operating for 14 years and our clients stick with us. We do re-roofing for tiled roofs and repairs on all roofs. There are three of us who do the work and we keep very busy most of the time. We cover jobs from Bribie to Yatala, only in South East Qld. We do large corporate work, Body Corporate work and private jobs at our "home assist" discount rates for pensioners. Our vacuum units are astounding and very effective. We do free quotes and have always prided ourselves on doing a better than expected job. Phone 0437 747 117 or 0400 265 189, office (07) 3283 7832. Best Gutter Solutions P/ L T/as McVAC GUTTER CLEANING. Email:
Mick is also an enthusiastic bush poet, a great listener, humorist, and do-er.
We are very grateful for Jeff and Mick's generosity.

Thanks to our other ABPA member sponsors:
Ian Groves of Lakewood: ‘providing feed for the silo’           $50.00
Nigel Johnson of Armidale: ‘seeing good changes’            $50.00
Robin Marshall of Berrigan: ‘keeping the fire burning’         $50.00
Anonymous: ‘to repay for successes in poetry’                   $100.00
Anonymous, for the second Limited Issue Chook Raffle: $400.00

Good luck!

See previously featured poets.

See previously featured achievers.

New ABPA Victorian Champions

Held as part of the Man From Snowy River Festival in Corryong Victoria 30 March - 2 April 2017

President Tom McIlveen
Written Champion: Tom McIlveen (Mr President!).

Female Open Performance Champion: Rhonda Tallnash (right). Second: Christine Boult (left).

Male Open Performance Champion: Ken Tough (centre). Second: Ken Potter (right). MC Geoffrey Graham (left).

Man From Snowy River recital trophy
Ken Tough also won the Man From Snowy River recital. Here's the perpetual trophy.

One Minute winnersLawrie Sheridan Award winner
One Minute poem winner: Kathy Vallance (right). Second: Christa Dwyer. Lawrie Sheridan Encouragement Award winner: John Davis.

Intermediate winner: Judy Boyd. Second: John Raine.

Novice Winner: Chrysta Dwyer (right). Second: Don Dwyer (centre). Third: Margaret Beechey (left).

Some of the competitors and judges that made it such a great festival. Congratulations to all.

Thanks to Jennifer Fennell of Upper Murray Photography for he kind permission to feature her photos. Facebook page.