Hi from Allan Cropper 'Cropduster'

Here new members should introduce themselves to the forum
Cropduster

Hi from Allan Cropper 'Cropduster'

Post by Cropduster » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:13 pm

Hi everyone. I am a newbie to ABPA. Not exactly a country lad. I was born and raised in Newcastle. I worked in Maitland for six years, then Armidale for a short spell, before moving to Sydney, where I have remained since 1990. I was introduced to a children's book by Graeme Base called 'The Eleventh Hour' when my daughter was about five years old, and I decided to have a crack at writing something along those lines. The resultant story was called 'The Ghost of Cockle Creek'. I have posted the first eight verses in the children's forum page to get some feedback. I am happy to post the entire story if other members of this sight would like to see how the story plays out. Over the years I have written a lot of other poems and songs, I have recorded a few original songs, although I would never consider myself a musician or performer. I am lucky enough to have a close friend with a recording studio who can turn a sow's ear into a silk purse when it comes to producing music. 'Ears that Hear' is the name of studio for those who may be interested in recording something at some stage, if you will forgive the shameless plug. Anyhow, I am enjoying reading the works of other more experienced poets, and posting new and older poems in the hope that you might enjoy them. Thank you for accepting me into your fold, and I hope to meet other members in the future. Cheers. Allan

Neville Briggs

Re: Hi from Allan Cropper 'Cropduster'

Post by Neville Briggs » Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm

Good on you Allan, you'll be right mate, if you have a thick hide. :lol:
Neville
" Prose is description, poetry is presence " Les Murray.

Cropduster

Post by Cropduster » Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:24 pm

To put yourself out there for the scrutiny of others, you have to have a thick hide :D