A Little About Me

Here new members should introduce themselves to the forum
Heather

A Little About Me

Post by Heather » Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:30 am

I had a very interesting childhood. Dad was involved in all sorts of activities from caving, scouting, bushwalking, army reserves and four wheel driving. From when I was a baby there were trips away for caving and later four wheel driving to various places in Victoria and one big trip to the centre. I enjoyed many camping trips to the Victorian high country and Gippsland, the Mallee, Grampians, Sunset Country and NSW south coast. Very happy memories.

Through my mother I was introduced to history and bush poetry as a child. My memory is that she had a record (or records) with poems such as Said Hanrahan and many by C.J. Dennis. Said Hanrahan is still a favourite.

I studied Biological Science at uni because I wanted to work with animals or in national parks. I left with one final year subject to finish as I found the Botany component totally useless. I married, worked in a bank for a few years, moved to the country and had four children.

My interests in history led me to be involved with the Kilmore Historical Society. I have been on the committee for 11 years and was newsletter editor for most of that time, having retired from that position in the last two months. In 2007 I researched and edited a history book - Kilmore Those That Came Before. For two years I was president of the society which gave me valuable experience in public speaking. I stood down after the 2009 bushfires to allow more time for my volunteer work. I am also a member of the Kilmore Cemetery Trust.

In 2009, following the Black Saturday bushfires, I became involved in volunteering for the fire recovery effort. I have met the most amazing and inspiring people because of that work. It has been a life changing experience for many reasons.