A Bit About Myself

Here new members should introduce themselves to the forum
Peely

A Bit About Myself

Post by Peely » Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:13 pm

G'day All

Bush poetry has long been an interest of mine. The seed was sown back when I was a student in primary school where my teachers encouraged my classes to read and recite works by poets like Banjo Paterson, Henry Lawson and CJ Dennis. I was also exposed to the great rhyming verse of modern day children's writer, Doug Macleod. My parents also purchased books by Paterson and Lawson around this time.

I was around about eleven when I made my first attempts at rhyming verse. Limericks were among the first things that I had a go at attempting. As a thirteen year old, I won a prize in a poetry competition on the subject of Arbour Day for a rhyming poem that I wrote (this comp was for any poetry). I remember writing other poems in secondary school as well - most of these were rhymed. The last poems that I wrote as a school student were written when I was in year ten.

Following school, I attended university and gained a degree in engineering. I did write a few poems as a university student. Even though I may not have done much in the way of poetry in the period after year ten until the end of university, the interest was still there.

It wasn't until late 2002, following a car accident, when my interest in bush poetry really started to ramp back up. It was at this time when I started to write much more regularly. By mid 2003 I had put a few poems together and braved my first time reading poems in front of an audience (other than just family) at the Batlow Rotary's inaugural "Pasta, Plonk and Poetry Night". I was encouraged by the audience response and was inspired to keep on writing.