A Tuneful Stephen Lindsay

Here new members should introduce themselves to the forum
stephenlindsay

A Tuneful Stephen Lindsay

Post by stephenlindsay » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:52 am

Hi, I'm just new here. My name is Stephen Lindsay. I'm 49 years old and now living in Crookwell, NSW after living for years in Sydney. I'm a music composer, but since living in the country I have grown to love Australian Bush Poetry and have decided I want to focus my creativity on setting original bush poetry to original music, recording it all here on our sheep property where I have a small studio set up. I just posted my first piece, "Waterfall Jackson" in the User's Bush Poetry section with a link to a youtube video where you can hear my poem set to my music.

I'm not sure how often Australian Bush Poems get set to original music, but it is something that I am really keen on working up. I have had some wonderful successes with my music, just last year I was at Abbey Road Studios in London having one of my songs recorded by The London Symphony Orchestra with a 72-person choir after being selected from 918 composers worldwide to write an anthem for Abbey Road's 80th birthday celebrations, and I still run a small independent record label from the farm called Oceanic Records, releasing songs onto iTunes etc.

I really like the added emotional depth that music could bring to bush poetry, so I look forward to participating and sharing on the forum from here on in!

Cheers - Steve

mummsie

Re: A Tuneful Stephen Lindsay

Post by mummsie » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:02 pm

Welcome aboard Stephen. I'm sure you'll enjoy the ride. Sounds like your're a busy man. Looking forward to your input on the site.

Cheers
Sue
Last edited by mummsie on Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
the door is always open, the kettles always on, my shoulders here to cry on, i'll not judge who's right or wrong.

stephenlindsay

Post by stephenlindsay » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:34 pm

Martyboy wrote: